I like how every time I see this commercial, I think “it’s so nice to see the whole Kanto crew (Brock AND Tracey) together!” then I remember “wait, is that a SHOE car racing showdown?…” and… this is… so… ????
Relationships get so bananas when you start deciphering the other person’s love language.
Like I thought I was just acquaintances with this person because they never told me details about themselves and we just talked movies and writing . But then they made time to have coffee with me and they showed up out of breath because they ran. Like. RAN to be on time for coffee with me?
And I was like “i don’t mind waiting” cause I never want to run
But they said they wanted every minute they could get because I’m so busy usually
Which is when it clicked that I didn’t get how much they considered me a friend because I just straight away didn’t see MY signs of affection in them and went “cool! Casual buds it is.” But now that I’m seeing their signs of affection, I feel a little silly for dismissing them like that even though I felt like we could be best bros.
Anyway, some people show affection through time or intensity or commitment and not vocally. I really have to remember that!
hey remember in 2016 when clown attack panic was a thing? and 2 years later it’s managed to leave no lasting indent in the American psyche, how does that work
Everyone has always been a little afraid that clowns would rise up and attack us, and it did happen a few time which confirmed people’s fears but it did not raise them.
I think my favorite thing about Kim Possible is how weirdly mundane it is, for being an action show. Like most other teen superhero shows are very dramatic with huge stakes, but Kim didn’t even have any powers. She was just an exceptionally good cheerleader, she didn’t even have a secret identity. The villain wasn’t even some big baddie with a tragic backstory and weird powers, he was just some crazy middle aged dude with a grumpy assistant that like just happened to live in the same town as Kim.
They ate fast food in like every episode. What even was Kim Possible.
Don’t forget that:
Both her parents bent the dumb and unknowing parent tropes by both being geniuses and fully aware of their daughter’s superhero activities
The show also balanced funny and non-serious villains with regular actual big threat villains
Character development actually stuck past one shot episodes
Both Ron and Kim had relatable teen issues and they didn’t just give them to Kim, like Ron’s entire episode about toxic masculinity and male body image
The relatable and healthy family dynamics both Ron and Kim had with their families
Teacher’s who didn’t excuse Kim for her superhero extracurricular activities and forcing her to go through detention or pay library fines or take tests even when she just saved the world
The global spread of their adventures beyond being strictly in the USA and the respectful way Kim adapted to every culture she went to
The respectful way Kim met dignitaries and those giving her lifts everywhere
The vast allies Kim gains through the series through just her attitude and kindness alone
Their sidekick animal was a FREAKING MOLE RAT
Drakkon and Shego’s relationship was villain goals and I firmly believed set up Agent P and Doof’s relationship dynamic in Phineas and Ferb
How incredibly wholesome and inspiring he show was and how it was the animated Buffy the Vampire Slayer of our time
How Kim didn’t sacrifice traditional feminine behavior or interests or her kindness and compassion to be more macho or tough
Ron and Kim were our first shipping experience and than became relationship goals
Kim Possible is an iconic piece of 90’s television that has literally shaped an entire generation and if you don’t believe agree with me I feel so sorry for you